Top 5 Minimalist Beauty Essentials

Approaching the topic of beauty can be a struggle for women. In my case, it’s taken a while to establish my zone of comfort, as well as my realistic needs.

I used to wander into Sephora and sample as many products as I could, adding to my ever-growing collection. It was an undeniably fun phase in my teens and early twenties, but not sustainable for my personality type. I like to stick to the bare minimum! Now, I have fun by going through my products and figuring out which ones I’ll actually use, which ones add to my confidence, and overall appearance goals.

Beauty Goals:

  • Pare down product usage (added benefits of saving money as well as creating less waste)
  • Find products and practices that truly work for my skin and hair type
  • Experiment with making my own natural products
  • Enjoy the process!

Here’s what I’m currently using:

  1. Dr. Bronner’s castille soap (almond, citrus, peppermint). I like to buy in a large bottle, and ration out as needed. I typically buy a 32 oz bottle (or two) I can ration it out for about a year, as I use a few drops at a time (diluting is key)!
  2. Baking soda. I use baking soda once weekly in my no-poo routine, usually mixed with a small dab of honey and enough water to make a paste. I also exfoliate with a baking soda paste, which is great for my combination/oily skin.
  3. Apple Cider Vinegar. Following my once weekly baking soda paste, I moisturize my hair with a simple ACV and water rinse.
  4. Mineral Salt deodorant. I am experimenting with making my own mineral salt based deodorant. After using a store bought spray, I’m in love with the results! I’m tracking the effectiveness of my own himalayan salt based deodorant spray.
  5. Safety razor. After years of searching for the perfect razor, I came across a sleek (but cost effective) stainless steel version online, after reading a few other blogs, and searching on Amazon.

My hair is in transition after a two weeks of water-only maintenance. Before beginning, I made sure to clarify my hair to strip any product residue. The first few days were a drag! Lots of oil production. Nearly three weeks in, my scalp is less dry and flaky, and my oil production is balancing out! At the end of the month, I’ll post some comparison photos for reference.

2 thoughts on “Top 5 Minimalist Beauty Essentials

  1. I also have way too much makeup for one woman. Fun to try out, but I’m not into wearing so much of it, at once. Simple is best. Nice post.

    Like

    1. Thanks! I agree, it’s fun to have the products handy for experimenting, but eventually, it becomes obvious which products become the daily standby.

      Like

Leave a Reply

