Zero Waste Bathroom: 3 Ingredient Deodorant

Deodorant proved to be a tricky topic for me, for quite a while! My skin is sensitive, and breaks out in hives easily. This high level of sensitivity has led me on an expedition to find a suitable deodorant alternative.

Our skin is our largest organ… and it needs to breathe! I find it best to avoid anti-perspirants, and let my skin do its thing. All I need is a light deodorant to mask any smells.

There is a bunch of hype about aluminum found in conventional deodorants. As a result, a lot of “natural” deodorants are marketed as aluminum free. Some of these natural versions also ended up irritating my poor pits! Wherever you stand on the issue, when it comes down to it, deodorants sold are prone to excessive plastic packaging.

After trying out a variety of conventional and so-called natural options, I tried out a solid mineral salt stick. It worked great, but I found it cumbersome to wet and slather, but with an upside of no irritation! Eventually, I switched to a mineral salt spray. After a few months of success, I’m now making my own!

You can make your own too, for less than a quarter.

Here’s what you need:

  • Pink Himalayan Mineral Salt (bought mine at Sprouts Farmers Market, in bulk on sale for $2.99/lb)
  • Purified or distilled water (I used purified)
  • Essential Oil (optional)
  • Glass spray container (I repurposed an amber glass Aveda body spray bottle, 4 oz.)
  • Small funnel
  • Small bowl for mixing

Step 1: Begin by pouring 4oz. of warm purified or distilled water into a small mixing bowl

Step 2: Measure out 1 tbsp. of Himalayan salt

Step 3: Slowly pour the salt into the mixing bowl, stirring continuously until most of the salt has dissolved. I’ve found the warm water truly helps the process along!

Step 4: Using a small funnel, pour your concoction into the glass spray bottle. Add a few drops of EO if desired. Use a refreshing citrus scent or a relaxing scent, such as rose or lavende. I leave mine unscented. Shake to mix before each use.

Step 5:  3-5 sprays under each armpit is sufficient. Do a little wiggly dance to help it dry quickly 😉

I have found another version online using organic witch hazel, but I prefer not to use it, even though it is gentle…just in case my armpits rebel against me! My wife and I both use it…and after countless “smell tests”, we are both pleased with the result.

Cost of store-bought mineral salt spray:

  • $2.99-3.99

Cost of homemade version:

  • Repurposed glass bottle
  • 1/2 oz Himalayan salt = approx 10 cents

Happy mixing!

-Isabel

3 thoughts on “Zero Waste Bathroom: 3 Ingredient Deodorant

  1. My partner makes his own deodorant using a very similar recipe to this one, and it is so good that he’s now switched his teenage son over. His son had been using a commercial brand aimed at teenage boys (rhymes with “Pinks” lol) and it simply wasn’t up to the job of dealing with him and all the sport and running around he does. The homemade stuff works a treat though! Our noses are all a LOT happier! 🙂

    Like

    1. It’s so quick and easy. I’m using up my store bought mineral spray, while my wife ditched her stick deodorant for my homemade version. In 105 degree weather it’s definitely holding up nicely. I got a good chuckle from your story!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

