Minimalist: Manifesto

Today, I was flipping through an old Moleskine journal. This particular journal has been in my possession since 2011. When I jot down ideas, I often create new notes on my phone. However, lengthier lists and sentiments get transferred to a journal. I’ve stopped the habit of keeping ALL my outdated journals, as one of my recent goals is to let go of the past. Keeping old memories tends to influence my bad habit of dwelling.

 

Here was a manifesto-like entry from last year. I had just read Marie Kondo’s magical book, and was ruminating on the topics she covers. Of course, the main tenants of the book revolve around identify what sparks JOY in one’s life! Now, I notice that my desires are similar, only becoming more honed and specific. It answers the main question that I ask myself: Why live a minimalist lifestyle?

What kind of lifestyle do I want?

I  want a life with no more than I need and no less. I want only to acquire high quality pieces that I can come to love and value in my home. I want my home to be a sanctuary. I’d like to come home to only pots I need (my family has around 4 sets of pots, which drives me crazy), tupperware that I need, and just enough. The books that I adore. I want space to practice yoga (I’m a licensed yoga teacher), and no clutter from crafts that I don’t do anymore!

I want my closet to represent simplicity. I wish I utilized a true uniform. I want to live a life that no longer revolves around impulsive purchases, or picking up after clutter constantly. I wish I could wear only jeans and a turtleneck, but turtlenecks are so confining- they put tension on my neck (I have rheumatoid arthritis). SO, perhaps I should release that notion, and focus on making my closet more monochromatic (check!) and comfortable. I want to use one thing at a time until it completely wears out.

WHY?

I want less laundry

I want less clutter

I want to be released from the consumer cycle

I want a uniform

Again, why?

They are practical, travel becomes easier.

I want practical, comfortable clothing because my job, and hobbies require comfort!

My favorite line: I am no longer willing to sacrifice comfort for a TREND.

One year later and I still completely relate to this list. My closet has evolved in the last 12 months, as has my thinking, and more so, my identity.

Why do YOU want to live a minimalist lifestyle?

7 thoughts on “Minimalist: Manifesto

    1. Yes! Some find the uniform boring or dull. I find it simple, humble, and comforting. I gravitate to coordination in my surroundings. I’ve been working toward a uniform for nearly 7 years, with ups and downs, all whilst figuring out my own style. It’s a fun process.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Great article! It really inspires me to make my own manifesto of sorts. The nice thing about having one is that it gives a person a chance to see it written on paper and the chance to be read every day as a constant reminder. Thank you !

    Like

    1. Thank you. I’m glad it resonated. The funny bit is that I wrote it in passing last year, and almost chucked out that journal. I’m glad I didn’t!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I tend to gravitate toward minimalism because I grew up with a consumer focused parent and honestly, I hate clutter. I tend to “keep tings around just in case” so it’s always a work in progress.

    Like

    1. It is certainly a pendulum, ever swinging, changing, and looking for the balance or “in-between”. I sometimes wonder if my kids (once I have kids) will end up wanting to hold on to items because I’m so “Spartan” in my house?! It’s a funny cycle. My parents have a room filled with extra things and I make sure to release as many of my (un-useful) things as possible.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Thoughtful, intriguing post. I appreciate minimalism for similar reasons. An abundance of stuff to me means stress. Stress from having to clean longer, organize extra, and occupy mind space for materialistic items. It isn’t necessary. My stepdad collects a lot of stuff and it sometimes makes me think…why do you have all of this? It can’t possibly have any meaning. I want the stuff I have to have meaning, which means it should serve a purpose, which means that to justify owning it I need to use it for something! I’m overseas and downsized my bag drastically. It required strategic packing, but I do appreciate that process of taking less.

    Like

Leave a Reply

