Minimalist Wardrobe: My Tiny Closet  

my tiny closet!

Downsizing my closet has made for easier moves, travel, cleaning and maintenance. When we moved to Arkansas, I had to choose between two closets. My wife took the bigger one, and I chose the mini closet. I no longer use a dresser. All of my intimates can be folded into a small drawer-

I use a lightweight  hanging organizer from Ikea to manage my foldables: workout gear, jeans, socks, intimates.

Everything else gets hung up or packed overhead (I use two shoeboxes to pack “out of season”) pieces.

I picked a general color scheme for my wardrobe, based on my favorite colors (aka clothing I actually wear).

Current color scheme: Navy, black, white, gray, Oxford blue, maroon

I have my clothing separated into categories

Outerwear: linen blazer, winter coat, rain jacket, winter vest, (2)sweatshirts

Work wear: (5) Oxford button ups, (3) slacks – two are technical fabric/ one is wool, (2) skirts – both technical fabric

Casual wear: (3) jeans, (1) jean short (3) linen tops (5/6) tees

Workout wear: (6) workout tops, (5) workout bottoms – comprised of leggings/ shorts/ joggers

I am in the process of redefining the shoe area of my closet- I prefer heeled leather boots for bike commuting

(2) pairs boots- one heeled/one flat

Currently on my list to buy: new pair of sandals/ new pair of black sneakers

I love everything in my closet! All my pieces are interchangeable and are made to last. Sometimes I count my things, not to focus on a particular number, per se, but rather- to see what types of clothes I tend to buy repeatedly. This usually is jeans and button ups- I should probably turn off my eBay alerts for Madewell jeans in my size 😉 I’m better able to pinpoint my true style if I constantly weed out the pieces I don’t truly wear.

As a bike commuter I lean heavily toward practical technical/ workout wear that can be styled and worn to the grad office rather than only upscale office pieces. I prefer to be comfortable rather than 100% stylish. I’ll wear bike shorts and a black workout tank on the ride to school and change into some slacks when I arrive. Easy to pack and go!

Could you live with a tiny closet? How big is your wardrobe? What types of clothing items are on your repeat purchase list?

5 thoughts on “Minimalist Wardrobe: My Tiny Closet  

  1. Beautiful closet! I haven’t counted, but probably around 50 -60 items… I tend to buy cropped tapered chinos, comfy shoes, and boxy cotton tops in black, gray, white, tan, and blue.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Michelle. Those are great basics to stock up on.
      I have to say, after perusing your style posts, you really do pull off the tapered chino! I go through phases of liking the chino (and jeans), I think maybe because of the fabrics I’ve bought. 100% cotton doesn’t always sit well with me, because it doesn’t wick enough in the summer. I particularly like your pairing business casual pants with Chacos- I think I’ll nab that idea for the grad office 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Ah it’s so cute and well organised! We don’t really get built in closets in Britain, but I love the idea of being able to close the door on it, and you have the whole room. Rather than buying extra furniture like we have to do now.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ah, I see! So, you use wardrobes and dressers and such? Interesting difference. I have family in England, but when I last visited, I didn’t think to check out my cousin’s closet situation. This is on the small side as far as closets go- here in America it seem’s bigger is always better. Some closets are the size of a room. This tiny closet suits my needs just fine 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

