Minimalist Wardrobe: Bags

Murphy’s law, right? After I create a post about being a one bag girl, I encounter a bag that rocks my view on things.

I’ve mentioned quite a few times that I’m a bike commuter. I like to be hands free. Add joint sensitivity due to an autoimmune disorder and you could see why I prefer not to lug around army rucksacks (I have a penchant for hyperbole, ok?)  like most teachers/students/humans/women (???) !

I L.O.V.E. my leather Cambridge satchel. It’s classy, sexy, while remaining subdued. But, with its ability to hold a  15″ laptop (don’t own a laptop) it’s bulky and sometimes overbearing. Not water resistant. I noticed I hadn’t used it this month except on days my wife dropped me off at school. Even so, I’ve had three main things in it: phone, iPad, planner.

I was tempted the other day when I encountered this Patagonia sling:


I like that it has a single strap, and balances the weight between your shoulder blades. Light rain resistant coating. Cell phone pouch. Bought in black. It can slip by unnoticed, and allow me ease of hands free transportation and not flop around hitting my hip like a messenger bag does.

I notice a lot of professional men on campus carry black nylon backpacks, messenger bags, briefcases. I think it could easily be paired with office wear for an athleisure inspired look. Right?

I’ll keep tracking the usage of my satchel. If the level of usage continues to decline, I’ll likely sell it. Although I’m sentimentally attached, so I’ll probably hold onto  both bags for the time being.

My foray into minimalism has certainly shifted how I perceive an item’s true usefulness. While I love the slick, worn in texture of leather, is it practical considering my main mode of transportation? Hmm! Food for thought.

Are there any items you love but have recently identified as potentially impractical?

2 thoughts on “Minimalist Wardrobe: Bags

  1. We recently went through our closets to move and I decided to donate my leather messenger bag from graduate school. It had a lot of sentimentality for me, but it was impractical and hurt my back. So I get where you’re coming from! It’s still difficult to let it go, though!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

